Randy May Family in Hillsboro Oregon

August 26, 2013

What to do with my antivirus software

Well, it is time to reevaluate my solutions for anti-virus software for the laptop.

I usually find one I like and use it continuously until something happens that makes me re-think that. But no matter what, I always have something.

You should too. Not even for just your own good but everyone else as well. If you get infected, the first people you will compromise are those you know and are in your contact list or that you share email or files with and the rest of the world.

I have been using AVG most recently but they have stepped up their marketing efforts to the point that it is invasive and not comfortable so it made me ask, since they are all changing, who has changed enough that it might be better? My research also reminded me that I had not given a new malware/adware solution much thought.

These are the solutions I will be considering:

AVG Free 2013
When I upgraded this last time to a new version it is very difficult to tell you are being upgraded to a new trial version instead of the new free version. When the trial ends you are only asked to purchase a license. I did find a downgrader.exe file from AVG to go back to the free version and I also heard that if you go to uninstall the program, that you get an option to go back to the free version. No matter it got me to looking at options.

Avast Free Antivirus

Comodo

BitDefender

Trend Micro

For clean up of malware and ad-ware the next two are considered.

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

Comodo Cleaning Essentials 6

For ongoing malware protection I will consider

Ad-Aware Free Antivirus+ 10.5

PC Mag has a good article on the best protection for 2013. They have other data that offer insight as well here and here.

Another consideration that others might have that I have outgrown, or my kids have anyway, is a solution for kids with families that can watch, monitor, restrict and set time limits etc. A free solution is Norton Online Family. I discovered it after my kids were older but the people I talked to who used it with younger kids really liked it and said it worked well. The parents set up the structure and rules and the kids can manage their time. There is reporting about searches and web activity as well social media and it allows parents and kids to have a conversation about what is safe and what is acceptable. Great tool. Sure wish I had it when my family was younger.

If you are in that place where you need to evaluate your options, join me in the search!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

